EXTENSE - Development of a measuring system (multisensor platform) for detection and localisation of objects (cables, ammunition and deep-sea mining) in sediments.

Duration: 01.10.2018 - 30.09.2021
Project Leader: Prof. Dr.-Ing Horst Hellbrück
Staff: Dr.-Ing. Tim Suthau, Andreas Schuldei, Fabian John

Background

In the joint project EXTENSE, we will develop a measuring system (multi-sensor platform) for the detection and location of objects (cables, ammunition and deep-sea mining) in sediments in collaboration with J&C Bachmann GmbH, the Technical University of Lübeck and the associated partner Fugro OSAE GmbH  under the leadership of the Sea & Sun Technology GmbH.

 

Objective

Compared to the state of the art, the aim is not only to locate objects and materials in the seabed more precisely, but also to identify them better. This is achieved by sensor fusion in combination with sonar technology and position determination in order to locate artificial infrastructures such as underwater cables and pipelines reliably and accurately. The measuring system is user-friendly in its application and handling. The system supports the operator with implemented expert knowledge through a new user-friendly user interface, which essentially includes imaging and mechanical integration.

The coordinator Sea & Sun Technology GmbH is responsible for the system development of the measuring system and for the video control unit (subproject SYSOCU). The partner J&C Bachmann GmbH develops a probe for the measurement of the temporal neutron decay spectrum as well as the prompt gamma radiation of a pulsed neutron source (subproject INN). The Technical University Lübeck, Competence Center CoSA, designs an electroimpedance tomography sensor including imaging and develops the sensor fusion of the entire system (subproject FUSEIT).

 

Underwater communication module of an AUV based on electric field

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Visualization of an electric field
 

Approach

The measuring system consists of a 2D/3D video control unit, a pulse neutron sensor, an electrical impedance tomography sensor and a sub-bottom profiler. Through sensor fusion in combination with position determination, artificial infrastructures such as underwater cables and pipelines are reliably and accurately located. Compared to the state of the art, the developed measuring system should not only be able to locate objects and materials in the seabed more precisely, but also to identify them better.

 

               Schematic structure of the underwater measuring system for the detection of objects in sediments

EXTENSE - Entwicklung eines Messsystems (Multisensorplattform) zur Detektion und Ortung von Objekten (Kabel, Munition und Tiefseebergbau) in Sedimenten.

Laufzeit: 01.10.2018 - 30.09.2021
Leitung: Prof. Dr.-Ing Horst Hellbrück
Mitarbeiter: Dr.-Ing. Tim Suthau, Andreas Schuldei, Fabian John

Hintergrund

Im Verbundprojekt EXTENSE wird im Verbund unter Führung der Sea & Sun Technology GmbH zusammen mit der J&C Bachmann GmbH, der Technischen Hochschule Lübeck und dem assoziierten Partner Fugro Germany Marine GmbH ein Messsystem (Multisensorplattform) zur Detektion und Ortung von Objekten (Kabel, Munition und Tiefseebergbau) in Sedimenten entwickelt.

 

Ziel

Gegenüber dem Stand der Technik ist das Ziel, Objekte und Materialien im Meeresboden nicht nur präziser zu lokalisieren, sondern auch besser zu identifizieren. Dies wird durch Sensorfusion in Kombination mit Sonartechnik und Positionsbestimmung erreicht, um künstliche Infrastrukturen wie Unterwasserkabel und Pipelines zuverlässig und genau zu verorten. Das Messsystem ist in der Anwendung und Handhabung benutzerfreundlich. Durch eine neue benutzerfreundliche Bedienschnittstelle, die wesentlich die Bildgebung und die mechanische Integration umfasst, unterstützt das System den Bediener durch implementiertes Expertenwissen.

Der Koordinator Sea & Sun Technology GmbH ist verantwortlich für die Systementwicklung des Messsystems und für die Video-Steuereinheit (Teilprojekt SYSOCU). Der Partner J&C Bachmann GmbH entwickelt eine Sonde zur Messung des zeitlichen Neutronen-Abklingspektrums sowie der prompten Gammastrahlung einer gepulsten Neutronenquelle (Teilprojekt INN). Die Technische Hochschule Lübeck, Kompetenzzentrum CoSA, entwirft einen Elektroimpedanz-Tomographie-Sensor inkl. Bildgebung und entwickelt die Sensorfusion des Gesamtsystems (Teilprojekt FUSEIT).

 

Unterwasser-Kommunikationsmodul eines AUV, basierend auf elektrischem Feld

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Visualisierung eines elektrischen Feldes
 

Ansatz

Das Messsystem besteht aus einer 2D/3D-Video-Steuereinheit, einem Impuls-Neutronen-Sensor, einem Elektrischen Impedanz-Tomographie-Sensor und einem Sub Bottom Profiler. Durch die Sensorfusion in Kombination mit einer Positionsbestimmung werden künstliche Infrastrukturen wie Unterwasserkabel und Pipelines zuverlässig und genau verortet. Im Vergleich zum Stand der Technik soll das entwickelte Messsystem in der Lage sein, Objekte und Materialien im Meeresboden nicht nur präziser zu lokalisieren, sondern auch besser zu identifizieren.

 

               Schematischer Aufbau des Unterwassermesssystem zur Detektion von Objekten in Sedimenten